Click on each attraction number for additional information
Click on each attraction number for additional information
This 193 acre park is the homestead of Swedish farmer Olaf Ohman, founder of the Kensington Runestone. In the fall of 1898 he and his son noticed strange carvings on a large flat stone, known as the Runestone, imbedded in the roots of a tree they were grubbing. The runes were translated as follows: “8 Goths and 22 Norwegians on exploration journey from Vinland over the West. We had camp by 2 skerries one days journey north from this stone We were and fished on day. After we came home found 10 men red with blood and dead Ave Maria Save from evil. Have 10 of our party by the sea to look after our ship 14 days journey from this island Year 1362”.Runestone County Park
Take a journey through history and learn about the Norse explorers visit to Douglas County over 600 years ago, leaving behind a 202 pound stone now known world wide as the Kensington Runestone, which is a record of their explorations in the new world. See first hand the Viking ship “Snorri”, a 40 foot replica of a trans–Atlantic Viking Knarr (ship)and other antique ships, on permanent display in the Maritime Museum. Discover Fort Alexandria, which is a replica of the early settlers fort built in 1862, which features a log church, a log general store, a log cabin, an 1885 schoolhouse, and a large agricultural building with many exhibits.Runestone Museum
You are invited to become part of “discovering, preserving, and disseminating the history of Douglas County and its people”! The Douglas County Historical Society is headquartered in the residence of the only foreign born Governor of MN, Knute Nelson. The turn of the century house has been completely restored, with many of the original furnishings intact.Douglas County Historical Society
Who would expect a ski hill in the middle of farm country? More than half a million skiers have visited the Andes Tower Hills ski area. Downhill or cross-country skiing, snowboarding or tubing. “Non-ski” season horseback riding, mountain biking and family events. Open year–round.Andes Tower Hills
Get your picture taken with Big Ole, a 28 foot, 4 ton Viking statue built in 1965 for the New York World‘s Fair. Big Ole commemorates Alexandria as the “Birthplace of America” due to the Runestone discovery. Big Ole is located on the North end of Broadway in Alexandria.
An afternoon at Carlos Creek Winery is a wonderful addition to your vacation, special outing or corporate event. Located in Minnesota‘s only federally recognized viticulture area, we offer tours and wine tasting daily and live music every weekend. Tour our 160 acre grounds, rent a four-seater bike, explore North America‘s largest living maze, ski through our orchards or take a dogsled ride through our grounds.Carlos Creek Winery
Perched on a hill overlooking Green Lake is the Norwegian–style stave church. Originally constructed in 1940 and remodeled in the 1990‘s, the church replicates historic stave churches of Norway. The structure is a popular wedding chapel and sightseeing stop.Green Lake Bible Camp Chapel
Pioneer and American Indian artifacts, a research library, country school and the impressive Great Northern steam locomotive will help you discover the past. The Sperry House, a restored Victorian home built in 1893 is open for public viewing upon request.Kandiyohi County Museum
A log church was built on this site in 1868 by Norwegian settlers. A marker commemorating the cemetery was erected in 1975. A replica of the church was built by volunteer labor in 1998 with local logs and materials. An original log granary was moved to the site in 2001 and serves as an interpretive center.Norway Lake Lutheran Historical Association
This log house, built in 1858, was the home of Guri Endreson and her family. During the U.S. — Dakotah Conflict, Guri saved three men after her husband and son were killed and her daughters kidnapped. The cabin is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. For viewing, contact the Kandiyohi County Historical Society. The cabin is located west of Willmar on U.S. Hwy 12, then north 4 miles on County Road 5, then west on 67th Ave. NW. Follow directional signs.Kandiyohi County Historical Society and Museum
Robbins Island was formed about 25,000 years ago during the Wisconsin glaciation period. Early people used it as a refuge from prairie fires and their enemies. Artifacts, dated approximately 3,000 years old have been found on the island. Robbins Island has since become a park with picnic shelters, playground equipment, nature trails, swimming beach and Frisbee golf course.Willmar Lakes Area Convention & Visitors Bureau
Housed in the historic Lebanon Lutheran Church in New London, the museum has an array of unique items, including a linotype newspaper, hand made wooden tools and a wicker undertaker‘s basket. The genealogical library contains the oldest records in the county, dating to 1859. The 1869 Sakariason cabin is also open for viewing.
The crystal clear water of Green Lake provides a dazzling backdrop for the community of Spicer. The lake is over 5,400 acres. Spicer is a popular vacation spot offering a bounty of recreational activities. There are many festivals and events that happen all during the year.Green Lake – Spicer
Prairie Woods Environmental Learning Center (PWELC) provides a beautiful 500 acre outdoor classroom of rolling hills, prairie and wetlands. Activities include environmental education, outdoor recreation, self-guided interpretive walks and hiking/cross-country ski trails. Westby Observatory, Linder Treehouse, Earl B. Olson addition and a renovated barn are popular for meetings, receptions, reunions, and retreats.Prairie Woods Environmental Learning Center
The Fort Lake Johanna Roadside Park provides a perfect departure point for a hike through the Nature Conservancy‘s Ordway Prairie. Fort Lake Johanna was built in 1863 in response to the Sioux Uprising the previous summer. When pioneer farmer, Urjans Iverson, returned to his claim in 1865 he used the logs from the abandoned fort to build his home near the West Lake Johanna Church.31039 State Hwy 104
Organized in 1931 to collect and preserve Pope County history, the museum includes a genealogy library, 11,000 sq. ft. of exhibit galleries, five historic buildings and displays of agricultural & industrial equipment. A unique collection of Native American arts and crafts is a highlight of the museum tour. Pope Co. has 11 sites listed on the National Register of Historic Places.Pope County Museum
Terrace Mill and the Stone Arch Bridge are the picture of pastoral tranquility in downtown Terrace. The Mill once produced flour and feed for area residents, then furnishings for churches throughout North America. Now a cultural center, the Terrace Mill Foundation hosts a number of arts events each year, most notably the Fall Fiddler‘s Contest.Terrace Mill
Country church spires punctuate the prairie skyline. Indherred Church has been a Pope County landmark since 1872. This active congregation have been great stewards of this grand structure.Indherred Luteran Church
This scenic overlook and wayside rest on Highway 55 offers spectacular views of the City of Glenwood and Lake Minnewaska. The dressed granite retaining walls were built in 1938 by the National Youth Administration. A geological marker describes the glacial action that sculpted the terrain on the Glacial Trail Scenic Byway.
Plenty of people call Starbuck “home” for the summer months by taking up residence in Hobo Park. The Park has 95 campsites, restrooms, dump station, picnic shelter and outside shower for swimmers. The Marina has 200 slips on 100 docks and two wide boat launches.320-239-2336
This preservation project honors the memory of Ann Bickle and Dina Bremness and their devotion to community health. The Bremness Gallery behind the house showcases the art and fine crafts of Pope County. The elegant Heritage House is available for special occasions, private receptions and group meetings. Located in Glenwood.
This 300 acre park has 33 campsites with full hook-ups, 16 tent sites, modern bathhouse, dump station, 4 miles of hiking trails, softball, baseball, soccer, tennis, skate park, bmx bike track, horseshoe pits, canoe rental, swimming beach, playground equipment and a winter ski area. Part of the park is being restored to native prairie.Barsness Park & Campground
Named for the waterfalls on the east branch of the Chippewa River, the village was founded in 1866 by J. M. Danelz, a Swedish immigrant. Danelz built a flour mill using the river to power its water wheel. Swift Falls was the home of Earl B. Olson, the founder of Jennie-O who started by raising turkeys in the area.
Located in Benson. Managed by Swift County Historical Society. Features numerous exhibits pertaining to Swift County history. Visitors to the museum have praised its genealogy library as one of the best.
Located in Benson. On the National Register of Historic Places, it was designed by E. L. Masqueray, the same architect who designed the St. Paul Cathedral. Built in 1917, the congregation recently added on the “Gathering Place” making the church handicap accessible.
Located on the west edge of Benson. The Park offers modern camping facilities, hiking trails, picnic shelters, bathrooms, miniature golf, historic school house, canoe landing, wildlife habitat and native plant exhibits. Adjacent to the park is the new Benson swimming pool with diving, lap swimming, water slide and kids play area. Next to the pool is Benson's 18 hole championship golf course.
The park is located on the north shore of Lake Carlos, part of a “chain of lakes” that includes Lakes Darling, Geneva, Victoria and LeHomme Dieu. Activities include camping, picnicking, fishing, swimming, boating, hiking, horseback riding, snowmobiling and cross country skiing. The park is located in the hardwood transition zone between the prairies to the southwest and coniferous forest to the northeast.
The park preserves a portion of a rare native prairie, which is home to prairie and woodland birds as well as a variety of grasses and flowers. Glacial landscape features, such as kames, kettles, eskers, erratics and moraines, formed during the last glacial period 10,000 years ago, abound. The park offers camping, hiking, boat and canoe rentals, and fishing in spring fed Mountain Lake.
This beautiful state park, with over 2,500 acres, is ranked in the top 20 attractions in Minnesota. This park features camping, wildlife, lookout point Mount Tom, and a beach. Visitors can bike, snow shoe or cross country ski on the many trails the park provides.Sibley State Park
The park consists of 187 acres of wetlands and hardwood forests on Monson and Sunburg Lakes. Visitors can watch a variety of birds or fish popular Monson Lake for a number of species of fish. The Park lies within the Alexandria Glacial Moraine Complex, which was laid down by glaciers more than 30,000 years ago. The park includes a quiet campground, historic site and a wooded picnic area.
Moe Woods represents a significant remnant of a mesic hardwood forest surrounded by a prairie, preserved in two parcels totalling 272 acres. American basswood is the dominant tree species along with American elm, bur oak and ironwood. Ferns, wild leeks, red baneberry and yellow lady‘s slipper can be found.
Leif Mountains features tall grass prairie, rolling hills and prairie-pothole wetlands. The site harbors four plant species listed as Threatened by the State of Minnesota. The preserve provides habitat for grassland nesting birds, waterfowl and shoreland species.
This 443 acre preserve is the home to one of Minnesota‘s most threatened wetlands, a fen. A fen is a wetland formed by the upwelling of ground water seeping onto the earth‘s surface. Many unique and rare plants and animal‘s survival is dependent on the pure cool water.
Hit the trail and have fun experiencing our rolling hills, prairie, wetlands and farmland! This 22–mile trail starts at the Willmar Civic Center, passes through Spicer, New London and on through Hawick to Paynesville. The trail is blacktopped for biking, rollerblading, and hiking.